Any IT People out there?

fenrir

So I recently took a job as the lone IT guy for my local court. I am feeling kind of lonely because I can't talk geek at work much unless I am telling my boss about the new server and computers we are about to purchase.

So I was wondering if anybody out there is in IT and what you do?
I am a Systems Administrator and I have 45 pc's and two servers to look after.
Also I am A PC!

bionicarm

Depends on what you want to talk about. I own a small business that deals with network security and intrusion detection. Deal specifically with the military, DoD, and sometimes the NSA. Can't say much else, but it's never a dull moment.
I've been in the business for over 30 years. I started as a Small-to-Mid Size Mainframe Hardware Engineer for IBM back in '78 (that'll date me). Computers that needed a 5,000 sq. ft. room to fit it in. Had to use logic probes and oscilloscopes to find defective memory chips. Memory boards the size of pizza boxes that held a whopping 32K. I remember the first sealed hard drive I worked on. It was the size of a small cabinet and held 25 Megs of data. Amazing how far technology has advanced since then.
I've done around 10 years of UNIX Administration, 15 years of Windows Administration (too many servers and domains to count), held an MCSE in NT 4.0 and Windows 2000 (quit getting certified because Microsoft changed their programs WAY too often), Cisco CCNA, CCNP, and about to finish my CCIE. Also administer Microsoft SQL databases and play around with IIS.

dragonzim