Any seahorse experts out there?

badasstang

I bought a pair of seahorses from another member, which were originally from Ocean Rider. They seemed to be healthy, and still do...but I have not witnessed them eat yet. She was feeding them Mysis shrimp, but they are not even budging from their posts when I feed them. I was thinking they may be eating it from the bottom when I am not around, but there is still some down there, so I don't think this is the case. Also, is it normal for them to be hanging around, and it looks like they are falling over...or should the be upright at all times? They seem to swim good when they are doing so, but usually just hanging onto something. Is there any tricks to getting them to eat?
I have researched seahorses for over a year now, just waiting to get the money to buy from ocean rider, so I thought I have known all I needed to, but obviously there are things that come up when you actually have them.

loopy

I am not an expert.....lol, not even close, but I have been reading a lot about sea horses as I love them. They, according to what I read, should be upright....how long have to had them? Transfer shock maybe? I am going to try and find my sea horse book and see what it says. Wishing you much luck, you are living my dream, and I probably won't get to...so Can I experience this through you???? lol!!!!! Would really love to see pics!!!

veganman

I am not an expert.
With that said, it sounds like your seahorses are doing what seahorses do. They are hunters and love "staking out" pods or what mysis are on the bottom.
They are acrobatic and hang every which way upside down, sideways, etc. I think mine are upright 20% of the time.
As far as swimming, they aren't really active, as say a clownfish is. I think it depends on the fish. I have several Reidi and some are swimmers and some prefer to hang out. When I had Kuda, it seemed like they would never stop swimming.