Aptasia issue

brikhouz44

I recently added 30 more lbs of live rock to my 75 gallon FOWLR tank. After researching other threads on this site, I can tell that I have an outbreak of aptasia. I have 2 bigger stalks, and I can see other little ones beginning to pop up that look much like the bigger 2.
Many people say on here how to kill them (hot water in their mouths), and everyone says they are bad for your system. However, no one really explains why they are bad for your system. Can anyone explain that further? They aren't bad looking - kind of look like anenomes. Is it imperative that I get rid of all of these guys?
Thanks for any input. I guess the good news is that I have an outbreak of copepods from the new live rock as well, which everyone here says is a good thing. I'm still learning?

wilsonreef

Aiptasia just has a nasty habit of spreading like wild weeds, they can take over your aquarium if left unattended. I also believe they have the ability to sting some coral's. I believe I had one come up between two of my Xenia and were stinging them. I could be wrong, but before killing out the Aipstasia my Xenia were turning white at the stalk that the Aipstasia was touching. I don't really know if that was it or not. But really, they can take over quite quickly. As far as the 'Pods, If nothing else they are a good food source.

S

sinner's girl

They love bad water. Lfs had some nice size ones. Kinda funny, they were trying to sell them.
Anyway, few years ago we had some, no big deal, didn't really care, I thought they were cool. Bought peppermint shrimp and bye bye aptasia!
Hot water or kalc mix will do it, but sometimes not. Peppermint shrimp worked best. Unless they get out of hand, you don't have to worry about it if you want them.

fishy7

Had some pepps that kept them under control. I had to get rid of the pepps, they munched on my anemone, which is a no no.