Aquapods?

kjz99z28

Hey, I'm pretty new at all this and have some questions.
I'm looking at getting either a 24 gal aquapod or a 12 gal aquapod. The 24 is only $80 more, for twice as much space!
Is this a better idea, or will it be a LOT more expensive in the long run? Or.. on the other hand.. should I just invest in a regular tank?
Do these need heaters? Well.. basically.. what else would I need to buy for one (mechanics-wise) besides what it comes with?
How much live rock/sand will I need?
And for questions about fish...
I want a pair of clowns for sure. What exactly is the difference in the different types? I've looked at maroons, the orange ones (hehe I don't remember the specifics, forgive me.), and seabae (?).
I also am in love with the dwarf fuzzy lionfish. If I were to get the 24 gallon, could I also keep one of these? My LFS said that if I bought the baby dwarf I saw (about 1") and a pair of maroons that were a little bigger, I should be alright. And, well, I wanted to double check with you all.
Starfish: I like them. I'd like to have a brittle star, but wanted to check on all that to see what would work and what wouldn't.
Basically.. I know nothing. :) Any help or suggestions would be very welcome.
Thanks!!

teresaq

my advice would be buy the biggest you can afford. 24s are nice, but you can only have a couple small fish, and usually need to upgrade the lights.
maroons get rather large for clowns, and are very aggresive.
I would keep an eye out in the classified section for a tank for sale in your area

kjz99z28

I'm trying, but I'm in college, with no job, just saving money off what the parents give me for allowance so unless I find a great deal on a 55 gal locally.. I don't have enough to get anything bigger.

lecithin

For sand/substrate depends on what you want to stock when it comes to fish, corals, and inverts, most of us aragonite or some type of sand but diff stocks require diff things.