Best Salt for a reef?

fgcu14

I have been using Instant ocean salt in my reef. Just wondering what everyone else uses. What is the best salt for a Reef Tank?

lion_crazz

There really is no "best" salt. Everyone likes something different. You need to find what works best for you. Best is very relative when it comes to salt. Many people will say that Instant Ocean and Reef Crystals is the best, while others say that Oceanic or Tropic Marin are the best.
It is all a matter of testing your water parameters that your salt gives you and adjust accordingly. If the salt becomes too much of a hassle, switch to a different one.
I have been using Oceanic for the past 3 years and I love it. It gives me excellent calcium and magnesium, dissolves quickly, has good trace elements, but a very low alkalinity.

dawman

Over the years I have used Instant Ocean , Coralife , and Oceanic . I like I.O. and Coralife better . The Oceanic doesn`t seem to dissolve as good as the other two .

ejensen

I was told to not use Synthetic salt mixes. I use Red Sea Coral Pro. I really don't think it matters what kind of salt you use as long as it isn't the cheap salt. Everybody doeses there tank to replenish what is used up.

ninjamini

Real ocean water will always be comprised of exactly what you will find in the ocean.
There are never any variances in composition.
It contains all of the trace elements.
Its the only way to go. Why would you want synthetic?

fgcu14

Originally Posted by ninjamini
Real ocean water will always be comprised of exactly what you will find in the ocean.
There are never any variances in composition.
It contains all of the trace elements.
Its the only way to go. Why would you want synthetic?
Are you saying actual ocean water...or is that a brand name?

m0nk