Brands to avoid?

jdinger29

Hello all!
I got a great deal on a 55 gallon glass aquarium this week and would like to set up a salty environment for some ocean creatures! I am not a total newb but it has been a few years since I last kept a saltwater aquarium. I am on a pretty tight budget but I want to do this right. I am planning on buying things for the tank as I can afford them. I probably won't be ready to fill 'er up for a few months. My question is this: What brands should I avoid? (filters, lights, skimmers etc...) I know what brands I should buy (because they are expensive and everyone here talks about them) but I don't think I can do the all out super reef right now... Any help would be appreciated.

jdinger29

I understand there may be some hesitation to discuss brand names on a web site that may sell them... If this is the case please PM me and I will give you my e-mail address...

michaeltx

Please do not use the PM feature for that thats not what its for.
as far as discussing Brands thats fine just dont post websites.
Mike

sepulatian

Originally Posted by jdinger29
Hello all!
I got a great deal on a 55 gallon glass aquarium this week and would like to set up a salty environment for some ocean creatures! I am not a total newb but it has been a few years since I last kept a saltwater aquarium. I am on a pretty tight budget but I want to do this right. I am planning on buying things for the tank as I can afford them. I probably won't be ready to fill 'er up for a few months. My question is this: What brands should I avoid? (filters, lights, skimmers etc...) I know what brands I should buy (because they are expensive and everyone here talks about them) but I don't think I can do the all out super reef right now... Any help would be appreciated.
You do not have to do a "super reef". There is nothing wrong with having a FO tank first. This is not a hobby that you can be cheap about. Please ask what you would like to know and tell us what your budget is.