Brittle Star loosing leggs

sundance

I'm just starting out and have just setup my first salt tank. It's been up about two months. I have a brittle Star Starfish that is loosing leggs. First I noticed a tip missing. It stays hide most of the time so I don't see it often. A week or so later I see it again and it has most of two of the five leggs gone. Then tonight about 5 days from before it only has part of two leggs. I moved it to a small tank where I was curing some live rock (ammonia is 0 in this tank so I am guessing the live rock is just about cured and it will be OK for the Starfish). :confused:
Everything else seems to be doing fine. I have five damsels (from 4 to 6 cm so they are small) A small Banded Coral Shrimp, a Sally Lightfoot Crab, one Atlantic Anemone, snails, Hermit crabs and a Yellow Sea Cucumber that hitched a ride with some coral I purchased.
I have two questions, first what could be taking apart the Brittle Star or could it be getting it's leggs jamed between rocks? The crab and shrimp have very small claws, I don't see how they could do this.
I have been told the Brittle Star will re-generate the legs. How should I care for this guy and what do they eat. Since he will be out of the main tank is there any thing special I should feed it? Any advice no mater how simple will be helpful .....I am just starting so I know very little about what to do.
Thanks for any help or advice you want to offer.
Sundance

dzones

I purchased two of these brittle stars at the same time...one for each tank. The tank that was much more established actually had a similar problem like you. The star lost two legs almost completely. It happen just that one time and he grew them back. been fine since. I did only have a few other damsels in the tank on this one and can only guess one of them or an emerald crab may have been the culprit????
the other star in my other tank has never been hurt that i can tell.

sammystingray