bubbles everywhere

latino277

OK. I have been fighting red slime and the hair for about 2 months now.
I was using a bare bones ro unit for about 2 yr and the sediment went bad and I was water changed with water that was less than perfect.
about 6 weeks ago I when out and bought a typhoon RO/di unit and have been using this for my top offs and water changes (5g evey week for WC and 2g for TO)
I also put in a phosban 150 reactor. now I had bubbles on all of my rock and sand. It looks to be only on the areas with slime or hair. any ideas y? how can i get ride of this. the bubbles are rising and it almost looks like i have an air stone in my tank. thx. I will attach picks.

latino277

Ok. so how should i go about getting ride of the bubbles. Please keep in mind that I have 2 sponges in there also. they don't seem to be affected.... yet. thx for all the help

yellowtail

i didnt mean that the bubbles on your lr were nitrogen bubbles but i was clarifying that the things called "NITROGEN" that you said were indeed nitrogen bubbles

latino277

well... no to think of it. I have been noticing the algae receding. could this be the cause of the bubbles??
I have no air pump/air stones in the system However I do have 2 external over flows.
1 leading to my fuge
the other for my semi-closed system. it this system I have a module heater and chem. filter filed with active carbon.
do you think any of this could be causing it. also I have no micro bubbles from any of my returns

eg_hatch

It actually isnt nitrogen gas bubbles, its cO2 from not enough gas exchange..you need to point a powerhead at the surface of your water(dont run an air pump)..I had the same problem in the beginning too.

latino277