Buying a used 55g fish only with live rock type

reice05

It is currently up and running and comes with its a fish only with live rock it comes with protein skimmer, orbit lighting, cascade filter, power heads heaters. It also has about 25-40lbs??? of live rock but he is keeping the fish. I just got a couple questions if u dont mind helping me with. I plan on keeping his water so the live rock doesnt get messed up and he only lives maybe 5 min from me so it not a far drive. Is there anything special i need to do when i get the set-up home?? Can i just set it up pour the old water in the tank and be fine?? Also is there any chemicals or any other items i may need to get, i know need a hydrometer but is there anything else? Sorry if they are dumb question but im new to saltwater but i ran across a GREAT deal. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I did that same thing when I got my first tank, so it is possible form what I know. Just make sure you have enough containers for the water and that they seal good. Try and keep the rock in the water from what I am told. How long has this tank been running for? I would let the water sit for a few days and get your self a test kit. (API is what I use) The reason I say that is that I have been told moving tanks like this could cause a mini cycle. If you are ever planning on going reef I would just buy a refractometer and not a hydrometer. The refractometer's are more accurate. Anyways enjoy your new tank!

xxianxx

first off start off slow this hobby is a very slow moving hobby. nothing should be rushed. and u can take the lr out of the tank and put em in a tub or a bag 5 min out of water wont do a thing to them
. and id drain the water bout half then transport the tank it will b much lighter.

jonp