Calling all experts

hserock

okay I know that this topic is a hot button issue,but here it goes.
I am having water quality issues.
All my readings are good, but following water changes or top offs
I am riddled with diatoms, is this from tap water???
What are diatoms in relation to silica????
How do you get rid of them
I know you should use R.O (like this hobby isn't expensive enough!!!)
but everyone I know personally w/marine aquariam uses tap water and thinks I am crazy they are not having this problem.
Recently I have been using bottled drinking water from the store in gallons for top off, this has been helping to keep the brown diatoms in check.
Any suggestions greatly appreciated. :notsure:

cannonman

I'm not an expert but: here's a recipe
RO water
More water flow to affected areas
add sand stirring creatures/snails

hot883

NEVER use tap water. Only use RO/DI water. if you do not have one, spend another $150 and get one. Diatoms are usually a new tank syndrom. If the tank is new it is to be expected.

P

phishface

I started out with tap water, til I saved up. Only been 3 water changes, and top offs and the brown alge that "blows away" with current has really dropped off. RO/DI the way to go. Good luck. :happyfish

sepulatian

ah, I use my well water. I live at the base of a mountain and have tested it many times. It is basically spring water, but it runs through pipes. They are plastic pipes in the house, but metal pipes outside. When I mix my water I add declorinater. Not that there is any chlorine, but it takes care of heavy metals as well. Diatoms are normal for any new system. If you used complete RO water you would still get diatoms (that is the brown mess)If your water is AT ALL questionable. Buy an RO unit. It will save you BIG TIME in the long run. But diatoms happen in EVERYONES tank regardless of the water you use!

H

huskychasrs

Not trying to start a cyber-war, but why does alot of people push the use of ro water?
Is your local tap that bad?