Camera Question

1guydude

So im looking at cameras on the dreaded CL today and i was wondering about the lenses....
The higher the number (mm) the more zoom i get right? Obviously this will be for taking some sweet micro and macro shoots (is their a diff lol)!
I found some nice cameras for decent prices but i need more info and any tips are appreciated! I think i want a newer one that is digital such as the canon 40d or 50d but idk i like the rebel too....
I just dont want some older school one that i wont have a clue how to use!

bubblegurl

Ha, my turn! I've got a nikon dslr 3100 with got a 18-55 mm lens on it but can interchange. I'm still learning how to use it and have taken a course, but it takes amazing pics. Worth the investment! LEDs on tank make lighting a bit harder to figure out tho. GL

acrylic51

You might want to post this up in the photography section. Cranberry is really good with camera info and tips as well. I have the 40D, and love the camera but know nothing about all the features and stuff!!!

I dont know much about the Canon cameras (I'm a Nikon guy), but I do know alot about photography. One thing to look at when thinking about lenses for macro photography is not so much their zoom... but their min. focus distance. You could have a 600mm lens but it wouldn't do you a whole lot of good if the min focus distance is 19 feet.

For my macro photography I use one of two lenses. I have a Sigma 105mm macro lens and I have a walk around lens that is a Tamron 28/300 macro. The Tamron will focus down to around 19 inches. If I add a few accessories to it... I can almost get the buggers in a bugs nose.
The only fish photography I have is not of saltwater but African Cichlids... and I have other photography that will blow you away... but I don't know if it's permited to be posted. Still learning the ropes here.
If you have any photography questions... Im more than happy to help.