Changing Over to Sump

I've been using a Fluval 305 and an AquaClear 110 on my tank. My Nitrates have been around 40ppm, ammo and nitrites 0ppm. I just aquired a sump 24 x 12 x 16. How many gallons would you estimate this can handle? I got no instructions or specifics on the sump.
Should I stop the other (2)filters cold turkey or keep them running?
75ga. tank w/ about 85lbs LR, 75lbs LS, Prizm Deluxe Protein Skimmer
Thanks

jimmy40741

A 24 x 12 x 16 is 20 gal and from what I have read that should be fine for a 75 gal tank. Of course everyone says the bigger the better, but if that's what you have then it should be ok. I guess the question about still using your other filters is up to you and what you have. Do you want to keep running mechanical filtration, is the sump set up for mechanical filtration, how much flow are you going to running through it, etc?

how would I do a flood test. Is it by turning off the power to the return pump? I'm new to the whole sump deal, never had one. I was thinking of continuing running the fluval with just Chemi Pure media and no foam inserts.
Do you think I could use the Fluval as the return pump? By placing the pick up tube in the return section of the sump, and the discharge of the fluval returning to the display tank?

keebler

Originally Posted by frog/lionman
http:///forum/post/2731473
how would I do a flood test. Is it by turning off the power to the return pump? I'm new to the whole sump deal, never had one. I was thinking of continuing running the fluval with just Chemi Pure media and no foam inserts.
Do you think I could use the Fluval as the return pump? By placing the pick up tube in the return section of the sump, and the discharge of the fluval returning to the display tank?