clean up crew

blenny1

what does everyone use for there clean up crew. IM new to sea horses, so just wondering whats safe.

zeke92

me to ci, i have to giant snials, turbos i think. i also have saltwater mollies (two giant black ones now).
and then i got a sand tiger conch or whatever it's called wich helps the sand quite a bit.
i'd like to get some nassarius snails whenever i can.
i also have a giant coral banded shrimp, it's my favorite shrimp ever!

blenny1

cool so I guess snails are the best. I was worried about getting hermits. You dont think the coral banded is to aggresive? I have one in my reef and if a fish goes near him hes ready with his claws

I'd say a big no to a coral banded shrimp...but a peppermint shrimp is safe around horses....i have a wide variety of snails and a couple of scarlett reef hermits....the horses bother them , not the other way around....very docile....now the dwarf blue hermits I'd avoid...there tiny , but fearless and will nip at a horse if they get close.

sherry13

Has anyone had seahorses and emerald crabs together? In my 110 gallon, I have emeralds, blue leg hermits, scarlet hermits, jade hermits, lettuce slug, astrea snails, nassarius snails, purple urchin, peppermints, coral banded shrimp, and I'm planning to add some seahorses. Maybe I should order a refugium too and plan to move the crabs if they are problematic. Then again, I could just set up another tank and move the seahorses, that might be easier. Either way, I was going to give seahorses with crabs a try. I also have some peaceful fish; 2 O. clowns, 2 cardinals, and a jawfish.