coral hosting

gwiley

My new Singapore true perc has just recently showed interest in becomming a guest of my large frogspawn coral. However, He will not actually swim in the polps. Instead he skims the suface of the polyps. I can tell he really wants to swim in them because he will swim under the bottom heads and dart through them really fast. He is really small so he could just be cautious of not becomming coral food.
What else could be going on with this behavior? This is my first time observing any kind of hosting and I'm really excited.

ahren

i have 2 tomato clowns & they're hosting a frogspawn too. im going to get them an anemone soon from what ive read they will host a wide assortment of things if they dont have a anemone.

gwiley

Originally Posted by ahren
http:///forum/post/2898414
i have 2 tomato clowns & they're hosting a frogspawn too. im going to get them an anemone soon from what ive read they will host a wide assortment of things if they dont have a anemone.
How well does your frogspawn hold up to hosting? Do the clowns cause the polps to deflate any?

gwiley

It appears that the coral is stinging him. The polyps try and grab hold of his body. What can I do to help my clown build up a tolerence or build up his protective sugar mucus coat?

ahren

no deflation my frogspawn seems to like it. my clowns are pretty big so not much chance if it eating them. maybe you should get an anemone for your clown to host. do you have enough lighting for an anemone?

mkzimms