CPR Bak Pak Skimmer

megadon

I just purchased the CPR Bak PAK Skimmer and will get it on Monday the 29th. Anyone that uses one, how well does it work, are you happy with it?

tidepool

I've got one and it works. I've been running it for 4 months with out a problem.I've heard some bad things about the RIO pumps that run it though.I was told by one guy at my LFS to change the pump once a year regardless.

megadon

I got it from one of the online sites for $119 or so + shipping.
Do you run them 24/7 or if it's noisy and I put it on a timer will that greatly affect the functionality of the skimming effect?

sterling

I have a BAKPAK2 on my 40 gallon and it works great. I had 4 fish in that tank, but now have it running only for a quarantine/hospital tank. But my water levels were always good with it.

j21kickster

Just make sure to clean the grey elbow connectors to the pump around every month, if they get clogged you will notice fewer bubbles in the skimmer column ,and also clean the funnel to the collection cup about once a week depenking on how much DOM (dissolved organic matter) you are pulling from the tank, if it is dirty it dosent collect very well, but other than that i think its awsome.

pstanley

I would also recemmend buying one of the bubble removers (either external or internal). They make a huge difference...at least for me it did.

megadon

I thought about getting the bubble remover, I'll see what happens and maybe get it in later on if I need it. Does it shoot a lot of bubbles into the return? How bad is to have a few bubbles anyway?

B

bcarp