Cyano in fuge

tsdid

I am getting cyano in my refugium, the tank has only been up for 3-4 weeks. I am new to having a refuge but I am linking it to the light source which is a par 5200k compact florecent. There are no signs of it in the display tank. Is this normal? My only worry is it will smother my cheto

novahobbies

IMO, a little cyano in your fuge isn't a problem. You have to watch it however, make sure it doesn't get out of hand. Cyano can indeed smother chaeto as it is a far more aggressive grower. Excess cyano may mean you have a nutrient balance issue that your filter isn't addressing.
Also, remember that chaeto is only a moderate nutrient exporter....and that the only way you're really going to "export" those nutrients bound up in the chaeto is by pruning the macroalgae ball and getting rid of portions to allow it to grow back. Caulerpa is known to be a faster and more aggressive nutrient exporter; however, there's a high risk it will go sexual and re-release all those nutrients back in the tank.
I've seen sumps that were crystal clear, and sumps that looked like Swamp Thing's Outhouse. It all boils down to what your display tank looks like....if your DT looks great and your chemistry is in place, then it's up to you to decide if you wish to battle the cyano that may be hiding out in your sump. Good Luck!

katsafados

KEEP a very close eye on it..
I had cyano in my fuge, and it got into my DT, but fortunatly im very lucky and I got rid of it pretty quickly before it spread.
I still have cyno in my fuge but I put tons of filterfloss i nthe fuge in key places so things in my fuge stay in my fuge.

tsdid

I really think its due to the light thats down there. does anyone use 10K instead of the plant lights with success?

tsdid