cyanobacteria?

missy39

Hello All!!
I'm very new to SW. I have a few questions, is this cyanobacteria growing? If so what is the best way to get rid of it and keep it from coming back? I sure wished I had come to this site along time ago. It has been very helpful. Thanks :help:
Not sure if picture took!

stingrayjs

I wouuld like to know how to get ride of mine also. My tank was find for a very long time then, WHAM! I had it all over. Its so aggresive that is covers everything in about two days if I don't scrub it off. I have cleaned everything from my pumps, powerhead, ect... everything I could think of that could be hiding something. I check my tank on a reqular basis, and everything was fine before and still while I have the cyanobacteria growing. Im not sure where its getting its nutrients from or where it even came from for that matter. I have a phosphate reactor on the tank which I even replaced the media inside it when this broke out. Many many water changes with ro watter(once a week), droped my lighting hours down quite a bit. Even replaced lights that where a bit old. But none of them where older than 5 months. Nothing I do has even made a dent in killing it. So im not sure how others on the site got ride of theirs. Im about to give up and get come chemi-clean and kill it all. I don't know what else I can do. Tank checked out ok on all stats. So far my corals, are doing ok even with all of it around and some times over them. I remove it every day from them, and its back the next day or two. Its driving me mad! :mad: :mad: :mad:

fishieness

the way to get rid of cyano is not by adding chemicals, but by eliminating the source. and there are a few of those. here are a few:
-tank in direct sunlight
-OLD BULBS
-high nutrient tank (that can be caused by many things such as not oding water changes, over feeding, inadequate clean up crew, ect)
-not having proper flow
-ect.

missy39