Damsels??

canadamoose

Hello,
I am new to the saltwater aquarium hobby and have a 29gallon Oceanic Biocube. I would like to get some striped damselfsh (Black-Tailed Dascyllus or 3 stripe damsels). I am wondering if I would be able to get an ocellaris clownfish with these, I am unsure whether they are compatible? Can I get a Harlequin bass with them (I just saw it and thought it looked cool) -please tell me if you have any suggestions for species of fish and/or coral for a nice reef tank? Also how many damsels can/should I get and which genus you would recommend? Lastly for the ocellaris clown can/should I get a bubble tip anemone if I want to have corals?
Thank You!!!

snakeblitz33

Damsels are pretty cool little fish - they are one of the most dominate species in lagoons and shallow water reefs. They are very territorial little fish, so I would not recommend putting a clownfish in with them, even though a clown is nothing more then another species of damsel. If you do go with damsels (other then clowns) don't mix them with other fish in such a small tank. The bass that you mentioned will grow way too big for your sized tank.
I highly suggest that you buy a couple of compatibility books before proceeding. I also suggest you read the articles here:
https://forums.saltwaterfish.com/t/388776/guides-for-new-hobbyists

flower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadamoose http:///t/392470/damsels#post_3485088
Hello,