Does anyone know what this is?

rroberts

I have a book that says I can take a screw driver and grind it out of existence. Is this recommended or will it spread the animal?

phil1964

I am new to the hobby but if it is the dreaded aptaisa I can speak from experience that it spreads. I got 4 out 2 weeks ago and have 'culturing' them in a cup. I now have 9. I do a daily water change for them but they appear to be on their way out. I got pepermint shrimp 8 days ago and my tank is clean. So far!

justinx

Looks like astrangia to me. I have several in my tank that came in on my LR. Mine tend to shrivel up in the day and triple in size at night. Put them in a shady spot so they will grow.

ophiura

Is there any chance for a more clear shot? Seems a bit pixelated or something. At this time, I agree, it does not look like Aptasia.

scarybo

It's hard to tell in the picture, but I would bet it is not aptasia. I've dealt with the aptasia nightmare in the past. It looks more like a different type of anenome. If you could post a better picture it would help in identification.

saltyshark

Originally posted by Barracuda
YES, i think i found the right one!!!
Bartholomea annulata

Yep I think Barracuda is on to something...did a search on it
Here's a pic

nm reef

Yup I agree that its likely a curly q anenome...I've heard they are closely related to aptasia...but don't multiply radidly and don't pose the problems aptasia do. A couple of years ago I had a curly q but eventually lost it...very interesting and from what I understand easy to keep anomone. A clearer pic would help...but I'd say a curly q based on what I've seen.

barracuda

Here's some info on your anemone: