DSB help

sagxman

I think I'm looking for quite a bit of technical info related to a DSB.
I just did a tank upgrade and started with a new LS bed of about 3 inches. I want to take advantage of the DSB to its fullest extent if possible so I don't want to add the wrong "critters".
There is currently no livestock in the tank. I seem to have quite a few bristle worms which I am happy about.
It seems I should stay away from burrowing fish such as diamond gobies. Do I also need to stay away from burrowing snails that shift the sand or do they not go deep enough to matter?
This is my first attempt at a DSB so any and all informal education is greatly appreciated. Feel free to teach me as if I know nothing about the concept. I don't want to accidentally do the wrong thing.

culp

its fine to have fish that burrow in a tank with a DSB. if you have a DSB its best to have fish like diamond goby because they help stir the top layer of the sand to help keep it clean.

rotarymagic

Originally Posted by Culp
http:///forum/post/2876665
its fine to have fish that burrow in a tank with a DSB. if you have a DSB its best to have fish like diamond goby because they help stir the top layer of the sand to help keep it clean.
in a 29g? sounds like the sandbed microfauna will get depleted really quickly with a diamond goby..

sagxman

Originally Posted by Rotarymagic
http:///forum/post/2876672
in a 29g? sounds like the sandbed microfauna will get depleted really quickly with a diamond goby..
That's what I'm worried about. I was thinking about a diamond goby or a jawfish. After a bit of research I think this might defeat the purpose of the DSB.
Any other animals I should avoid? Also, any brief explanations about how a DSB works would be appreciated and I'm sure some newbies could get some good education along with me.

aztec reef

Originally Posted by Culp
http:///forum/post/2876665
Not a good idea..