Elgence Coral/Mistake?

1boatnut

Ok,I did something I normally don't do.Impulse buy.
Today I purchased a Elegance Coral,and the LFS told me they were hardy and relative easy to take care of.
I come home and googled it,and now seem to be finding out that at 1 time these were a hardy coral,but now not so much.
Die off for no reason after 2-3 months
I was also told they were a peaceful coral,and everything I have read so far states otherwise.
Anybody have any info/insight or experience the can share.
Did I just make a big mistake?
I am VERY new to coral keeping(like a month) so I could really use some advice on this

btldreef

Originally Posted by 1boatnut
http:///forum/post/3138145
Ok,I did something I normally don't do.Impulse buy.
Today I purchased a Elegance Coral,and the LFS told me they were hardy and relative easy to take care of.
I come home and googled it,and now seem to be finding out that at 1 time these were a hardy coral,but now not so much.
Die off for no reason after 2-3 months
I was also told they were a peaceful coral,and everything I have read so far states otherwise.
Anybody have any info/insight or experience the can share.
Did I just make a big mistake?
I am VERY new to coral keeping(like a month) so I could really use some advice on this
IMO Elegance is a mid-range difficult coral. I've heard numerous opinions on how to keep them best, and most of the time they're opposing.
They are an aggressive coral so don't place anything within its reach and keep in mind that they can expand their reach quite far.
My personal experience is that you need to feed them daily with brine shrimp, micro-plankton or mysis shrimp for them to do well. And put them in medium light, medium water flow.
Good luck.

1boatnut

BTLDreef thanks so much for the imput.
In your opinion given my experience,do you think I should return it for something more in my experience range? OR GIVE IT A GO?
It was a $65.00 coral,so there is alot i can get for the $

meowzer