Euipment help!

cldburton

I have a 75 gallon tank that is curing. I have a fluval 403 filter, protein skimmer and my lights are basic. If someone can please help me :confused: Here are my questions:
1. I am doing a fish only tank what do you suggest for lights and the watts?
2. What do you suggest for powerheads and size?
I have read all kinds of material but none as good as this forum!
:)

pmauro

I am not an expert on the light so I will pass on that, but for power heads I would go with at least 2 in the rear at opposite ends 1 high 1 low points diag across the tank. make sure the one near the surface ripples the surface of the tank for areaition, just a slight ripple will do as for size you will want to cycle the water a minimum of 5 times per hour. take the gph rating of your fluval and subtract it from 375 (5x75 # of cycles per hr) then choose 2 power heads that will split the difference. Maxi jets are good, caps are ok but have a little chatter when used with a wave maker. the choiec is yours, my understanding is stay away from rio pumps I understand many folks have had problems with them, again your choice, my .02

krux

If all you are going to do is fish, then the only light you need is enough to illuminate the tank to levels that the fishes you are holding are used to.... brighter for shallow reef dwellers, not as bright for deeper reef species. Of course figure in enough light so that you can view them properly as well.
Most folks prefer to have a mix of "white" and "blue" light in their tank. The blue light adds an illusion of depth, like you would see on a nature type program, and is beneficial to most photosnthetic organisms, which in a fish only tank is not of importance. Blue lights can also be used to simulate a dawn and dusk period, so as not to shock your fish should you use a higher wattage, brighter illumination system.