Filter or Skimmer for new tank?

scott v

Help im kinda lost here.
I was told that I dont need a filter and all I needed was a skimmer. If thats correct, I would like to change my question about "what kinda filter" to what kind of skimmer for a 55 gal. would do.
Thanks. Oh I want it to hang on the back of the tank as well. I cant afford to have a sump and have it screw up.
Scott
Northern Virginia

bison

I'm new to this hobby, but as I understand it, filters and skimmers each removed different things from the water, and the use of both provides the best water quality. I've also read that while skimmers may be optional (initially at least), a filter of some kind is a necessity from day one.
I have a Wet/Dry Trickle Filter (a rather big affair with a sump, several filters and "bio-balls"). Last week I added a SeaClone 100 protein skimmer (which can hang on the back of the tank or can sit in the sump, as I have it). I also just added some cured live rock which I hope will provide additional biological filtration. Don't know if these are the best, but they're what I have and they seem to be working.
Good luck to you!

kevin j

I must disagree with bison you don't need a filter from day one and I would spend the money on a protien skimmer. I have a 75 gallon reef and had a emperor 400 on it. I had all kinds of problems with algae, then I got rid of the filter and have won the battle. The bad thing about bio-wheels and bio-ball are there nitrate making machines in the long run. So I took the money and bought a euro-reef and have been doing great with no filter.
But there is no one way to run a tank, what works for one person may not work for another.
kevin:D

wintrmte

Originally posted by Scott V
Help im kinda lost here.
I was told that I dont need a filter and all I needed was a skimmer. If thats correct, I would like to change my question about "what kinda filter" to what kind of skimmer for a 55 gal. would do.