? float switches

neoreef

Hey, I really love the float valve auto top off. Now I want insurance:
Now that I can turn the pump in the top-off bucket ON whenever evaporation lowers my tank water level (thus lowering the float), I want to be able to turn the pump OFF if the bucket runs dry.
Can I, in the top-off bucket, attach another float switch that is reversed, so that when the float is down (as the water level goes to zero) it shuts OFF the power? Can I just take off the little clip and reverse the round float and replace the clip,
or do I just turn the whole thing upside down?
I don't like turning it upside down because I worry about wear and tear and saltwater on the wires.
Can anyone give me a clue about this? I am just a newbie.
Thanks!
Kathy

acrylic51

Are you talking about using the plastic float valve to turn the pump off??? Or are you talking about turning the RO unit off??? If your trying to turn a pump or powerhead on and off you would probably be looking at using a an electric shut off valve. It would get wired into the power cord of the pump or power head... HTH

neoreef

Hi,
The RO unit is separate from my tank. I refill a top-off bucket the old fashioned way--I pour it.
I am talking about adding a second float switch to prevent my pump from burning up should I forget to pour/refill my top-off bucket, and it runs dry. This is a differenct float switch from the one I am using to turn the pump ON to refill my tank.
Thanks,
kathy

acrylic51

Sorry about the confusion, but you would need to look at a float switch electric that can be hardwired to the pump or powerhead to shut the thing off when water level drops to a certain point... You can find them on ---- for around $5.00, but you have to hunt to find them...

yaksplat

The float switches are either NO or NC. You just take the clip off of the bottom and flip the float.
Jim

yaksplat

neoreef-