Fragging Yellow Polyps?

fgcu14

I have never done a frag before in my life. However I have my rock full of Y.P. and they have already doubled in numbers. Way too man for me. Anyway I was wondering if I could frag them, and if it is possible, how do it do it? thanks

reefforbrains

Yellow are more aggressive then most other polyps, make sure you dont put the frags where they will spread into or over something else. If you are planning on breaking the rock then its simple, just do the math ...1 large colony + hammer = two or three smaller colonies. if moving individual polyps to new locations to seed colonies remember they grow fastest on smoother surfaces. there are several threads about best methods including seeding cups or netting the new polyp to the desided location.
remember too, if you are having great success with one species and you have the room without hurtuing another, let it beef out and then in a couple of months you can trade them off for other items without cringing in the pocket. Loads on here to swap frags with.
Happy fragging and good luck

30-xtra high

thank you for making this thread!, i got a rock with 30 yellow polyps about a month ago, and now theres already 50 polyps, i've been wondering how to frag them.
and do you just pluck them at the base, or use a razor blade to cut them??

reefforbrains

If you cut on the so called trunk of the polyp like you were cutting down a tree then it will regrow a new head and you can place the head you cut off wherever you like, there is much debate about how close or far from the bottom to cut, but any wich way should work fine.

fgcu14

i've read many ways of how to attach the frag. I was thinking super glue GEL will work and be the easiest for this type of coral. what do you think?

reefforbrains