Help Please With Logic Resistant Algae

swampthing

I've got a chronic algae problem. I've been running a 90 gallon reef tank for better than 2 years now. At one time I had beaten the algae and the tank looked great, so I know it can be done.
All and all, the tank seems pretty healthy. Too healthy, really. When I first put in the turf scrubber, the green hair algae slowly subsided until there was almost none. In fact, all my bigger snails died off from starvation. I started fumbling around with Hbh Balance Blocks, trying to keep the pH in a tight range. This was the only thing I did differently. After about a month and perhaps two packages of blocks the algae just went crazy.
I tried using the algea killing liquid product. This went poorly. The green algae became a yellowish, bubbling algea which became red slime algae. This went on for another month, before I stopped adding anything at all to the tank, increased the filter flow, changed the floro bulbs, and decreased the lighting period.
It's been another month and the tank has gone back to green algae (some dark green, some less dark). All the while, I've been scooping out 4-8 oz. or more of the stuff every day. The growth seems to have tapered a bit, and it only loosly grips the rock, so removal is easy, but it keeps coming back. Anybody got any suggestions? Too much food? Too much light? Give it more time? Add a carbon reactor? Less/more water changes? I'm not too keen on adding anything like medicines or suppliments.
What I've got in my 90 gallon tank:
90+ pounds of live and base rock. 3-4 inches of argonite sand with another 1-2 inches of live carribean sand on top of that.