help - store water in my tank

ramatt

Hi - I am totally brand new to the this hobby and I think I did a really bad thing! My 65 gallon has been through its initial cycle, and new fish are being added. We inherited a sailfin tang from my roommates tank(she is moving). I went and purchased a sohol tang and a wrasse. Well, in my naive little mind, I did what the store owner told me(this is a good dealer), and introduced the fish like he said(1/2 hour floating, with 1/4 cup of my tank water added every fifteen minutes for another 45 min and so on). I then proceeded to put the fish and the WATER from the bag into my tank. Two bags with about a 1/2 gallon of water between them. Well, I'm now reading websites and such(you would of thought I would have seen this earlier, I've been doing my homework, the brain must have not registered it) and now realize that it is bad to put the water from the store in my tank. I found out today that the tanks at the store are medicated with copper. Now the crappy part. Is my live rock going to die? I don't have any inverts in the tank, only live rock. Is that amount of water going to pollute the tank and kill the rock and bring parasites into what I have worked for over 3 months to get to!!? If anyone has advise or recommendations, it would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Richard

fishgirl

I've always put the tank water in the tank, but of course it was always the QUARANTINE TANK! I don't think there's enough water with copper in it to do severve damage to your live rock, but get a QT: from your last post it seemed like you put the fishes directly into the display tank: BAD idea! But we all make mistakes, and I don't think this should be major. It's good that you're conserned, though. Have fun with this hobby!

mainejo1