How to ground a tank...

bigred

How do you ground a tank? I would like to know how some of the different ways to do this because I have never done this before.

smuvcrmnal

It's Easy..
The most common way, I think, would be to purchase a grounding probe from your LFS and installing ti should be a breeze. I have two, one on my tank and one for back-up. All it requires is to screw the pronged connector into your wall outlet using the mounting screw for your wall outlet plate and dropping the probe into the tank. If you are running a sump it makes it so much easier to just drop the probe into your sump. Most stores have two different kinds of grounding probes, the size maybe the difference in cost.

skirrby

i still dont get why you would want to ground your tank.. it seems like a good idea.. but being a electrican it just dont make sence to me... based on this theory... if im working on a live circuit(which i do alot of) and i grap the black wire(hot) and i am not grounded to anything or dont touch a ground, i cannot get shocked, its just dont happen... but the second i ground myself (touch the ground wire, metal or whatever) BAMM i get shocked.
so if you have live stray current enter the tank and it does not have a ground it shouldnt affect much,, but if you add a ground it gives the current somewhere to go letting the current flow through the tank and shocking whatever is in it. that theory is based off normal house current. if things work differnt under water or in the tank.. i dunno i dont have any first hand experice with that. does that make any sence to anyone.. ill ask some of the journeymen i work with tomorrow see what they say

skirrby

yes its attracted to water but the hot still shouldnt affect it if it dont have a ground cause the circuit couldnt get completed.