I am still learning

shaunda

I have been at this for about 1 year now and I have learned so much from this website but I still have a few questions that I was wondering if someone could answer for me.
1. Can you have too many powerheads in your aquarium? I am circulating 2400 GPH without my main pump. I have a 125 g tank. 6 feet long. What happens if you are circulating too much?
2. Do you EVER clean your sponges in your filter. I understand it needs some of the bacteria but should you at least rinse them off?
3. I asked my lFS what causes PH to go down and he told me something about the gravitational pull of the earth. Is that true???? If not, what causes your PH to drop? I recently went out of town for 5 days and had someone feed my fish while I was gone. When I left the water was perfect, ph was about 8.0-8.2. By the time I got back home, all my fish were dead. PH was 7.2. What could have happened! I find it hard to believe it was the gravitational pull of the earth!
I know this was long but hopefully you guys can answer these q's for me! Thanks in advance.

ric maniac

first off, welcome! and i think the gravitational thing sounds like a load of bull lol. what are your other parameters? ie: ammonia or nitrates. and im not sure about the power heads.

jtrzerocool

do you have your light on a timer?
did you leave the lights off during the trip?
when the lights go out in an aquarium photosynthsis stops and the PH will drop.

shaunda

Before I left the house my parameters were
amm - 0
nitrites - 0
nitrates - about 40
PH 8.0 - 8.2
When I came back home they were
amm - .50 ( which I think was due to dead fish and too much food.)
nitrites - 0
nitrates - 40
ph 7.2

autofreak44

that is a good ammount of flow in your aquaruim... 2400/125= 19.2
thats about 20X turnover which is an ideal turnover rate. some go as low as 5 and as high as 35