Ich?

Alright im still new at this but i have noticed the last few days that two of my fish might have ick. I dont have another qt let alone catch them. I have a 29 gal. reef tank. I have a fire shrimp as he apprears to me just fine but he hides all the time until night time. I have a small puffer, mandrin and one clown. Ive only noticed the spots on the tail of my mandrin and the tail of my puffer. What can i do do get these guys better. I do have test kits and the buffers and what not. Is there anything i can get that i can treat these guys safely in the dt without harming my corals or inverts?

renogaw

the only two choices you have are these if you really want to cure your fish with the least amount of stress to them:
1) empty your tank of all the rock and inverts and hypo your tank.
2) spend a whopping $30 and get a QT and hypo the QT.
your mandarin does not have ich, it is more likely to be sand in it's mucus covering. everything else needs to be hypoed.

Thanks for the response. Alright i have an extra 25 gallon tank that i can use for my QT. What kind of water must i fill it with and what all does it need. Can i use the filter from my dt or should i get another filter? Is there a link that explains this "hypo" treatment?

rudedog40

Originally Posted by renogaw
the only two choices you have are these if you really want to cure your fish with the least amount of stress to them:
1) empty your tank of all the rock and inverts and hypo your tank.
2) spend a whopping $30 and get a QT and hypo the QT.
your mandarin does not have ich, it is more likely to be sand in it's mucus covering. everything else needs to be hypoed.