"Inherited" a 6 gallon tank! Need some help!

xokarmaxo

Hi all!

I work in a Dr.'s office and we have a 225 gallon saltwater aquarium in our lobby... absolutely gorgeous!
One of my co-workers, who is no longer with us, left me her 6 gallon desktop since I took a great interest in it after she got it. I've had it now for a little over a month. When I got it, it had 12 lbs of live rock, live sand, a clown fish, 2 fire shrimp, a hermit crab and a margarita snail. Everything in the tank gets along perfectly.
I know that with the tank being so small (it is actually an Eclipse System 6) there is very little that I can do/add to it. The only thing that I have done with it is changed the aquascaping a bit. I am still extremely new to this hobby and have been a lurker on this message board, learning a plethora of helpful things... you all are so extremely helpful to each other!
My question is this... I have seen some other nano tanks and have fallen in love with the ones that have the corals in them. Right now, I don't have any special lighting, other than the one that came with it. I take that back... this week, our LFS ordered a light for me, and forgive me for not knowing what "kind" it is... I just know that it has a blue/white bulb that is supposed to make everything in my tank "look" better/clearer than the stock lighting that is in there now? Anyway, I was wondering if there was ANYTHING coral-wise that might work out in my tank? I like anything with "movement" and anything with pretty colors. :)
Here is a pic of my tank now... pretty plain looking. Any suggestions/tips will be much appreciated!

demartini

are you changing the fixture or just the bulb? You will probably need to add another power head because the flow in the eclipse systems is pretty weak.
Welcome to the boards!!! :)

xokarmaxo

Originally Posted by DeMartini