Is my anenome dead? See Pic

kosarfan

I bought a beautiful condy/atlantic anenome yesterday (pretty big and full) and came home from work today and noticed that it's tentacles are inside of it's orange base. I hope it didn't die. Is this normal? It seemed well aclimated, moved around a little last night, and stayed pretty full.
Thanks,
Brandon

southcoral

I'm no expert on anemone (in fact, i haven't even bought my tank yet, soo) but...i've read that's it's normal for them to be a bit skiddish for a while, and sometimes might even close up when you come around. Maybe you should set up someway to look at it when your not in the room, maybe a mirror to peek around. Or a video camera. I don't know, maybe some real experts will speak up.
~*wish you all the luck, love ya*~

ophiura

Be sure to keep him well fed. What sort of lighting do you have (normal output, PC, VHO, metal halide)? It is a bit low for most anemones...a condylactus is a little more forgiving in terms of light but success with it doesn't mean that the lighting is suitable for other species of anemones.

woodymdt

That's just beautiful! Makes me envious and excited about getting my tank cycled and set correctly so I can start adding these wonderful creatures.

kosarfan

what is the best way to feed the anenome? I have frozen brine and formula two (algae) flakes. I have about exactly 3watts per gallon (PC lighting).....also how long should I have the lights on each day?
Lastly, have 2 blue/green chormis and one doesn't eat. But what is weird is that the one will eat and then lock mouths w/the one that won't eat. Is this a mating ritual or is the one actually feeding the other? I noticed an area in the sand that looks dug out, kinda like my old cichlids used to do.
Thanks,
Brandon

ophiura