Is this Skimmer good for anything?!

vwbortoni

Hi, I bought a complete setup from someone leaving the hobby and it included a WD filter that has a "protein skimmer." I use quotes 'cuase that piece of junk has not collected anything in the cup and it has been running for days.
The black pump on the side is a Rio 600. I'm new to the hobby but I don't think it's working correctly as all it does is create a mini tornado in the chamber that spins the water.
Does anyone have any experience with this stuff?

nm reef

Not a very highly regarded skimmer in my opinion...there are numerous other types that will out perform the one you have.Bottom line skimmers are seaclones...sea swirls...skilters...yours may be a sea clone...I'm not very familiar with the specifics on them...but I do know the vast majority of hobbyists that have them wish they didn't.

vwbortoni

Originally posted by YellowTail
does it say a brand name on the side of it?

Nope, no name. Oh wait... it's a AQUACLEAR AQUATICS PRO 75 WET/DRY skimmer combo.
Anyone have this?

hurricanedrift

I had the very same filter. I changed over to a sump/refugium system and added a Euro Reef skimmer. NO comparison between the sea clear skimmer and euro reef. No harm in running it until you upgrade however.

C

crm13

I've heard a lot of people trash the seaclone skimmer, but I have to tell ya; I have one of those and it's been nothing but good to me. I mean, my tank seems very healthy and when I test my water, it tests consistently. And, much to my surprise, my nitrates are near zero almost everytime. I never expected that to be the case since I never had that kind of luck in my other tank. I mean, sounds like it's doing what it's supposed to, right? What is it about the seaclone that makes it such a bad skimmer? If I bought a better skimmer, would my nitrates drop below zero?:rolleyes: Just looking for some feedback.

sly

Agreed.