IT/Legal Question

fenrir

Hey guys, have a question about legal issues with an open Wireless access point at my apartment complex. I am a IT professional so I know my way around the technical side of IT. This evening I went do laundry at my apartments lodge/house where they also have a free to use wireless point with no encryption for the whole complex to use. Being my self I just went to see who else is using the access point and discovered that the management has there "management" PC connected to the same access point. It gets better though, they have a share that is free to access that holds everyone's lease agreements and other private information.
I would send an anonymous letter in telling them about the issue but I think they would have no idea what I was talking about and ignore it. I would like to tell them about the issue and help them fix it because my wife's and I's SSNs are also being freely put out there. Are there any legal issues I should worry about? I technically didn't "hack" anything since it was freely open and available for use with the permission of the management which is in my lease.

reefraff

Originally Posted by Fenrir
http:///forum/post/3280607
Hey guys, have a question about legal issues with an open Wireless access point at my apartment complex. I am a IT professional so I know my way around the technical side of IT. This evening I went do laundry at my apartments lodge/house where they also have a free to use wireless point with no encryption for the whole complex to use. Being my self I just went to see who else is using the access point and discovered that the management has there "management" PC connected to the same access point. It gets better though, they have a share that is free to access that holds everyone's lease agreements and other private information.