just got my first "real" tank man...

therealcreel

its a 55 im doing salt with rock on one side onlywith some cool stuff on it and i want cool creatures, not sissy fish.
i know all these wont get along but i would like some of the following:
-shark
-stingray
-octopus
-eels
-lionfish but thats so standard
does anybody know of a site that shows compatibility charts?
anyone ever heard of jellyfish tanks and their compatibility?
i am just getting started so i need a list of basic stuff also. i have the old fluval 303 and its on a stand obviously. lights and a lid. it was my dads old freshwater tamk and now its going salt.
thanks for all you help here and maybe someday ill be able to do the same for someone else.
-Brian

deltablack22

Welcome to the boards Brian... Your gonna have to seriously re-think your stock list man. You could do an octopus by itself, or maybe some smaller lions and a snowflake eel... No sharks, rays or jellies. This tank is way too small for what you are looking for. I recommend using the search feature and browsing the "New Hobbyist" section of these threads to get a better handle on what you want and what is realistic with the equipment you have.

scubaguy

Ok, slow down first this hobby is all about patience. A 55 gallon is not big enough for any of the things you listed. The octopus is a loner and can not have any fish with it unless it is for it to eat. The eel you might get away with a snowflake but not sure. Sharks and stingrays are way out because they need space to swim.
You need a heater, 55 to 110 punds of Live Rock, 1100 GPH to 1375 GPH water turn over, Argonite(sp?) sand for base (2 to 3 inches) and a protien skimmer, saltwater test kit for PH, Nitrate, Ammonia, Nitrite(Basic will need others down the road), a hydrometer but would spend money on refractometer more acurate. I am sure I forgot a few things but this will get you started.

therealcreel