Just starting salt, new cycling information help

phishman1

After 25 years with cichlids, started a 35 gallon salt tank, 3 weeks ago this coming Friday. Filtration, 330 bio wheel, (skimmer coming), 2 rio air pumps. Contents: 5 live rock, live sand, 2 Damsels, plus 2 small jumpstart bags of gravel from established tank. Reading: ph: 8.2, Ammonia: almost perfect, Nitrate: a little high, Nitrite: Terribly high, 1.0 to 2.0...with all the live stuff, shouldn't the tank be cycled already? I'm new at this, is their anything I can do to speed up, or just be patient.
Thanks, Jim

jeff33436

Hi Jim-
I recently cycled my 55 gallon tank and it took a full 4 weeks to completely cycle. I had 0 ammonia almost from the start, but my nitrites were high right up to the end. Then one morning, I tested and nitrites were 0. :) I am still trying to learn patience with this hobby and unfortunately, everything goes slow and takes time! Good luck and hang in there.

new

patience is the key with this hobby, cost me $100 dollars of poor fish that just got bought by the wrong person to learn that.

fshhub

each tank is diffferent, and tehre should be no time limit on anything, especially cycling,
IMEO, i have seen and heard of cycles lasting from days(which is very rare) to 3 months( i have even heard rumors of some lasting several months)
with the norm being 6 to 10 weeks for most(but do not count on any of the frames i have mentioned, just expect it to be long and if it is not, you will be pleasantly surprised)
just hang in there, it will happen and all be worth it
patience is our greatest asset here

cap'n pete

As stated, cycling can take up to 100 days to complete. The live stuff (especially the live rock) may have not been fully cured or could have die off from your water conditions. Just keep a good current going and let it run its course. water changes will only prolong it.

jake22