leather coral dying??

sterling

I read another post just recently about someone's leather coral looking bad. Mine hasn't spouted any of the polyps on it since yesterday and today it looks like there's a shiny area on the inside part. Since I'm new to the corals, is this one dying on me? I'd be very sad if it is. Please help me out.

hondo

Leather corals do shed from time to time and when they do this it's not uncommon for them to not have polyps out for several days. It might be doing this or it might be stressed by something. Need more info on your water quality. Have you tested the water recently? If so what are the results. You list having a wet/dry and a Emporer but only 80lbs of sand in a 125. I would guess your nitrates are pretty high and that could be stressing the coral (this is just a wild unsubstantiated guess). check your water and see if anything is out of line. also is this coral new to the tank and if so how new? It may just not like the spot it is in, or may be adjusting to your lighting, BTW what is your lighting.

sterling

Ok, tested my water today (I test usually weekly or twice weekly), my parameters are as follows:
PH 8.4, nitrite 0, ammonia 0, calcium 490, alk is a little low but in normal range, I added buffer today. temp 78.5, salinity 1.025.
So now what.

hondo

well If your water is fine (no nitrate test though and corals do not like nitrates) then the leather may just be shedding. They do this periodicaly. What is your lighting set up and when did you put this coral in your tank.

sterling

my lighting is two 36" JBJ power compacts with one 96W blue, one 96 white in each fixture. I got this coral about a month ago. I talked to a LFS and discribed it to him and he said the same thing you did, shedding. Actually, tonight, when I got home a few of the polyps are out. So I'll keep my fingers crossed.

R

randy 12