LFS took me for $900

missi

Help! I have been shopping at my LFS for over 6 months now, they've helped me set up and maintain a 7g tank which I have spent a fortune on! The two people I have been working with have been really nice but a few Saturday's ago I went into the store looking to upgrade to a larger tank. Twner (of whom I have never worked with) was there and was helping me out but I think he really took me for granted and was only looking out for the sale, not my best interest. I purchased a stand with a 20g tank and the cover. He then had me purchase a pump and a skimmer ($135 Prizm) and live rocks and the other necessary items. Well my first sign that I had been duped was with the live rock. They had what I thought was anemonies (over 20) on it but after reading the message boards I found out they aren't anemonies but things that kill fish. I went back to the LFS and inquired about it with the sp I have been working with and he said "OH, you're the one who bought those rocks" and thankfully allowed me to trade them out. Next, I'm finding out that I shouldn't have started my skimmer upon setup and that the Tang is not supposed to go into an aquarium less than 75g ..... Is it just me or am I being taken for a ride.
Thanks for any advise(sorry for the long message) :help:

some1fishy

Another LFS Horror story. That really stinks.
Well there are some positives. First off you got to take the rocks back....
2ndly, the owner probably seen you in there before and didnt know your experience level and may have assumed a couple of things. 3rdly you got to get a feel for the way they do business. You can opt to continue to shop there and deal with "your" people or try another store.
But the biggest and most important lesson learned should be this one: Do reseach first before you make a purchase. Be it at an LFS or SWF.com or anywhere else for that matter. Knowledge is power and can also be a money saver.
Go with your guts on this one! Good luck and keep on fishing!