Lights Help...

wamp

Hello all,
I am currently setting up my 65gallon tank... It is 36x18x24..
I would like to run 250w halides. I do not want to run any supplemental lights with it due to heat...
So, with a budget that allows some nice stuff, which type bulb would you choose. It will be an electronic ballast.
I will want to keep mostly SPS... Not really a big clam fan but the lower light ones are an option...
Please, Choose my bulb...Or.... Give me some other options...
Lighting is not my strong suit..

michaeltx

I THINK the 10K is the bright white color and the 20K is the blueish color. brand bulb I have no experience other than 65k saki
from what I understand is that the 10 and 20K doesnt need atinic but for our viewing pleasure. If you like the bright white color I would go 10K but if you want a bluer color go the 20K
but growth if I remember the lower the better.
65K best for growth but horrible on color
10K good growth bright white color
20k growth blueish tint to color
50k growth I dont know purple color
I think this is right though. maybe someone else can agree or disagree with it.
Mike

rickster

I think Mike meant 6.5K and 5.0K, not 65K or 50K...its tough to tell if he meant (thousands or kelvin)
On continuous light sources it is possible to measure the color produced using kelvins as the measure.
The lower the number the "redder" the color until it reaches into the invisible infrared range of the spectrum.
The larger the number the "bluer" the light until it reaces int the invisible ultraviolet range of the spectrum.
Sunlight at noon is around 5400 kelvin and direct sunlight is about 6000 kelvin
20000 kelvin is the color of a clear blue sky, and makes for some cool aquarium affects and why that is a popular color temperature.
I think the most important number for aquarists is watts/gallon...at least that seems to be the consensus.

krunk

Originally posted by Rickster