Live rock.. is there any way to create it??

odb

Well, heres the question, and it might sound dumb, but I'm going to ask anyways. Live rock is like 9.00 a lb here in Canada. If I buy a small chunk of live rock, and put it next to lava rock (which is 2.00/lb) is there any way to get the organisms, coral, algae, etc to transfer to the lava rock? This is really the only thing that is stopping me from setting up my 66 gal as a saltwater aquarium. I have lots of experience with freshwater, but little with marine. Any help would be appreciated.

clayton

Live rock is simply bare rock that has been placed in the sea and colonised by various things that were previously larvae in plankton.
What are you guying the live rock for??

odb

Well, I want to have a combo tank.. a couple of live corals, and some fish.... kinda inbetween a fish only tank and a reef tank. I keep hearing that live rock will help keep the water consistent, so I want to be able to start with a small chunk and hopefully some of the organisms will populate the lava rock, therefore creating live rock from dead...

otto13

i have a 50 gallon with about 15 pounds of live rock. the base rock seems to have started to turn into live rock, but it took a long time. this didnt start happening until i used coral supplements.

clayton

Originally posted by ODB:
Well, I want to have a combo tank.. a couple of live corals, and some fish.... kinda inbetween a fish only tank and a reef tank. I keep hearing that live rock will help keep the water consistent, so I want to be able to start with a small chunk and hopefully some of the organisms will populate the lava rock, therefore creating live rock from dead...