Mated Pair????

scooby1350

Why do Coral Banded Shrimp Need to be a Mated Pair? Does that mean one is a Female and one is a Male and they will have more?
I am new to saltwater tanks and just starting to setup a 55 gallon tank. Everything test out, so I can start adding more to my tank.

jacksonpt

I assume you saw that on a website or at the LFS when you were looking into buying them?
I don't think they NEED to be a mated pair, that just means that they have mated in the past so you could assume they would again if conditions were right.
I think you could buy 2 CBS (i.e. not a mated pair) and be OK, however they can be rather aggressive at times, and buying 2 does not guarantee they will mate.

scooby1350

Well I was looking to buy some on the Saltwaterfish site and in the description they have "Keep only one per tank. (Unless mated)"
That's why a was concerned about buying more then one. I want at least two in my tank if not more :)
Plus I was wondering if they would breed and I could get more?

benter

I guess that you love CBS's..I wouldn't plan on having many other small inhabitants..I had to get rid of the one I tried..anything it could catch was dinner..cleaner shrimp, fire shrimp, circus goby...NO CBS's for me..JMO..though. I know a lot of people on here have had a lot of luck with them but not me..

scooby1350

I like the way they look and I know that they will always be out in the open for everyone to see. I am hoping I will have good luck with them. As for right now these are the only kind of shrimp I am going to get. I do have hermit craps and snails, so hopefully the CBS won't eat them .

sepulatian

Originally Posted by scooby1350
What time of year is the best chance of finding a Mated pair? Right now no one has them in stock.