My 2.5 inch maxima clam will not attach to rock. I need advice

hey guys
I recently purchased a clam from please do not put competitors names in here and I cannot get it to attach itself to the rock where I would like it to rest. The reason it will not attach is because the foot looks damaged. The foot of the clam looks damaged and frayed. I am not experienced with whether or not it will regenerate back to new or what will happen. The clam appears to be a healthy specimen but the foot looks like it was damaged due to it being pried off from the stores tank bottom.
What do you all think?
Thanks

meowzer

I hate to say this, but if the foot is damaged, the clam does not really stand a chance.....put in a claim.....
can you get pics....how is the mantle???

spanko

Can you show a picture of the byssal threads? (the foot)
If only the threads have been damaged chances are good it will recover, it the byssal gland has been damaged this could be fatal.

btldreef

Quote:
Originally Posted by spanko http:///forum/thread/382548/my-2-5-inch-maxima-clam-will-not-attach-to-rock-i-need-advice#post_3339377
If only the threads have been damaged chances are good it will recover, it the byssal gland has been damaged this could be fatal.
I have to slightly disagree because of the size of the clam. It will more than likely die even with a slight fray because of it's size. If we were discussing a large Maxima, it would be more possible for survival.
It sounds to me like this is a bad tear. I would post up some pictures and contact the company you bought it from to let them know you're having issues and start the claim filing process.
If you're new to clams, don't purchase one under 3".

geoj

Quote:
Originally Posted by spanko http:///forum/thread/382548/my-2-5-inch-maxima-clam-will-not-attach-to-rock-i-need-advice#post_3339377
I will come to your defense spanko you are 100% correct.