My New Bigger/Better DIY Sump/Fuge

dogstar

I had a 31 gl. sump/fuge ( 34 x 14 x 15h ) that gave me 190 sq. inches of fuge floor that I have been useing for four years. Worked great and full of pods and macros, ect.
But...... Bigger is better right ? So...
I have had an old 135 gl. 3/8 in. thick acrylic tank ( pic. 1 ) that I never used, got it used and decided to set up a different tank at the time. Its a great hobby and so many ideas all the time...
I had the 135 gl. stored out side on the back porch for nearly 5 years and later I noticed the seams showing some cracking ( pic. 2 ) and decided that the tank was no good to use as a main tank anymore.
So.... I took some measurments and decided that I could make a bigger fuge out of the tank that would be 53 gl. ( 44 x 15.5 x 18h ) and give me 330 sq. inches of fuge floor. Nearly doubleing the old fuge. It would be tight but would work.
So... get the saw, I stayed away from the old seams at least 2 to three inches so it would be good material for the new seams. Cut the main walls and did a test fit ( pic. 3 ) befor cutting the rest up. It cut easy with with my saw and a staight edge and fit every thing pretty well.
Put it together with WeldOn 4 and test filled it with water to check for leaks or splits and let it sit for a few days and there were none. To my suprise......I still afterwards reinforced all the seams with 3/8 square rod so now its very strong. ( pic. 4 )
Bought some more sand to add to it and was ready to do the swapout but I had to cut a bigger hole in the side of the stand but I made a panel to cover it back up. Mixed up some new water and moved every thing out of the old fuge, rocks, sand, macros, as many pods and worms, ect. that i could save into 5-5 gl. buckets.