Nano Cube vs. Aquapod

bluegirl

Hi all! I'm new to this hobby! Hubby is buying me a 24g tank for xmas. I get to choose it, just wondering what you guys recommend. I'm planning on doing ls and lr, and possibly getting a nano skimmer. Oh, and is the eclipse tank an option with a bio-wheel? I want to stock with a percula clown, a goby of some sort or a gramma. I've been reading the boards for awhile doing the research necessary to getting started. The guy at the lfs told me I could put a yellow tang in the tank, but I've read on the boards that the need tanks at least 30g, so I'll steer clear of that one. I'm excited and can't wait to get my tank and get it cycling. Any tips or info would be greatly appreciated. :happyfish
Thanks,
Becka

jhebi

Some of LFs don't really care about your tank, they are just there to seel you something....I believe that they would even tell you that you could put a shark in a 24....
Don't listen to them and since you are new to this hobby, Welcome aboard and also read, and read a lot so you can have the knowledge before you start your new hobby....
Good Luck and keep us posted.....
:jumping:

birdy

Welcome to the board,
I would not recommend a eclipse tank, they really limit your options for lighting and filtration.
I would actually advise you to not get one of those pre-fab type systems.
Get a 24 or 30 cube and get your own equipment and lighting, you will get much better equipment for the money IMO.

salty tank

I think you should look for a 30 gallon tank with an overflow. No nano cubes. Get a stand that can fit a small sump in the bottom and put the skimmer down there. THe bigger the sump, the better.

devilboy

Originally Posted by bluegirl
The guy at the lfs told me I could put a yellow tang in the tank, but I've read on the boards that the need tanks at least 30g
Thanks,
Becka