Nasty Series Of Losses Need To Discuss

nacl-man

While I have been keeping a tank for 3 years I still consider myself a newbie (as this disclosure will either confirm or deny lol). Recently (11/24) I added a LT Anemone and a Flame Hawk to my tank (60 gallon) along with a Clarkii, two cleaner shrimp, and a Bi-Color Blenny that have been living in the tank for 3 years and 1.5 respectively.
On 12/1 I lost my Blenny to what I think was a powerhead accident aggravated by a sting from the anemone, but I am not entirely sure.
Today 12/2 I lost the anemone which, in conjunction with the loss of the Bi-Color, has made the tank a total mess.
I have been doing water changes since 11/30 to combat a tiny spike in ammonia levels, which I attributed to the addition of the fish on the 24th, but am probably wrong. So I am out of saltwater as of this morning (I used everything I had left to do a change this morning after I found the anemone has died).
Two Things:
1) What do I do to save the fish I have left, I am making RO water as fast as I can.
2) My fish disappear in a matter of hours. I went to bed last night at 11 and the Anemone was fine... but gone in the morning. What causes this?
My tank has been 'acting weird' for the past month and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'm hopeful that we can come to a conclusion.
Cheers!

dvs

Sorry to hear about your losses :(
What are your water specs at? (The numbers, not "ok" or "fine")

ssweet1

Sounds like the whole problem started with the anemone. It could have been declining for a little while and wrecking your water. Are you checking all levels after each water change? You dont want to change ph/alk or salinity drastically from day to day. Sorry to hear about your fish :nope:

T

thomas712