Nearly broke my foot with LR!

rackyrane

Before I ask my question, I have to tell you what happened, so bear with me.
Catawaba and I made a long distance trip to pick up some LR. The LFS there has great LR with alot of life/hitchhikers on it. I picked out several great pieces (one even has a large sea squirt on it) and brought them home. Catawaba called me and told me that the piece she had bought smelled like dead snails and that I should probably cure my pieces. Being a newbie, I always listen to my SWF elders. I proceeded to pick up the rock and take it to the sink for a quick rinse off. Whew, did it stink! :scared:
Well, I happened to look down at the rock and I saw the UGLIEST, little speckled brown and white baby crab in the world running towards my fingers.
This is where I almost dropped the rock on my foot. Can you imagine a grown person hopping up and down while screaming and juggling LR? Well, thats what I did. Of course, my husband was no help because he was too busy laughing, as you probably are too.

Now that you have stopped laughing, here is my question. Should I try to find this little bugger and get rid of him or should I wait until the LR cures and then see if he's still alive and risk putting him in my DT? No, I don't have pictures of the people eater, but I can sure describe him!
Be aware that if you think I should try and find him now, I AM going to wear protective armor!

renogaw

crabs will find whaterve knook and cranny they can and you may never find it again till one day its sitting there. I had a ton of crab hitchikers survive the cycling. if you can find it, get it out and get a picture so we can id it for you. if not, you'll find it one day hopefully.

rackyrane

I was going to rinse it off because it smelled so bad--I wanted to get off any dead stuff before putting it in the salt water. Just a quick spray, not a dunk.

catawaba

NO! Cured live rock has a fresh/ocean smell, not a stinky rotten dead snail slime smell.