New here, 35g long?

watcher

Hi I'm new here, I've been keeping saltwater for over 3 years(reefs) so I won't make the dumb mistakes, hopefully, ;)
I'd like to use a 35g long tank for a snowflake eel, a dwarf lion or a Fu man chu, and say a large striped damsel(I know it could possibly be eaten when the eel and lion grow up)
what is easier to convert to frozen foods, a fu man chu or a dwarf?
can i even keep all these fish in a 3 foot long tank? I know I'm pushing it with the eel.
thanks for your response

grouperhead

First off, I'd like to welcome you to this board. It is always growing with new members and we are very glad to have you. Now on to your question,,,,,
IMO, dwarf lions need at least a 55g. A sfe will be fine in a 35g. If you want another agressive fish to go with your eel, why not look into a hawkfish of some sort. They stay a managable size for your tank, and are very cool to watch. Bo

watcher

what about a couple of damsels? This tank is more for the eel than anything so I'm not to angry about the lion, I could get a couple of blue devils or something right? They wouldn't harm the eel?

watcher

Is there a chance I could use a clean up crew in this tank, if I keep the eel fed?
What kind of inverts should I get? More crabs?

kev

Why couldnt a dwarf go in a 35? Awhile back I posted on whats the smallest tank for a dwarf lion to go in. I got alot of answers from sharks saying that its ok to have one in a 20 with a 10gal sump. So a 35 should be fine for a dwarf. :D

watcher

actually I've been for the last hour or so reading up on lionfish from old posts and I'm getting the impression that I could keep a sfe and a dwarf lionfish in my 35g tank,
then again I've never kept lionfish so I don't know

treble

Sounds like a good set-up, keep LR to a minimun for swiming space, and maybe put some clean PVC pipe in the rockwork, so the eel can go through it without nocking it over. Go with 2inches of sand, what filtration do you want to get?

watcher