New Reef Builder needs input

fanclan

I am new to saltwater, but have a couple of freshwater tanks that I have been maintaining for a couple of years. I am ready to take the leap into the Ocean now.
I want to build a 75 - 150 gl reef.
Could someone give me some ideas on contents for the tank. i.e qty of rock, wattage of lights, size of sump and gph, type of substraight, number of power heads.
My goal is to have it stocked with the following:
Fish -
Clowns 2-3
Tangs 2-3
Gobies 2-3
Coral -
green brain - 1
chili coral -1-2
Goniopora - 1
Inverts -
Hawaiian Red Anemone - 1
Long Tentacle Anemone - 1
Derasa Clam - 1
Cleaner Clam - 1
Shrimp -
various - 10
Snails -
variious - 10
Crabs -
various - 10
Well thats is my starting point, please let me know positive and negitive points you may see.
Thanks,
FANCLAN :notsure:

bang guy

Just my opinions.
Go with the 150 if you want a Tang. Stick with just one Tang though.
A pigmy Angel could be another nice addition or a nice Rabbitfish.
Stick to 2 Clownfish.
Ovoid Anemone for a year or so. As soon as you fully understand why having an Anemone in a reef tank is a really bad idea then you'll be ready to care for one.
between 1 and 2 pounds of uncured live rock is an excellent way to start a reef tank IMO. If half of that is base rock that's fine as well.
For a full reef lighting I prefer 3 X 250 watt HQI + 2 X 160 watt VHO URI SuperActininc (assuming a 6 foot tank). Your preferences may vary. If you're handy you can start with 4 or 6 X 160 VHO and add the HQI once the reef requires the extra lighting. No harm in starting with the final product though.
Avoid Green, non-branching Goniopora. Unfortunately Green non-branching Goniopora are the most commonly collected Goni but 99% don't survive even a year.
Euphillia corals like Frogspawn, Torch, and Hammer are nice to look at hardy corals.
I'm not a fan of Crabs. They're predators.