New to Saltwater Again

dalerich

I'm new to saltwater but not brand new. I had a 55 gallon tank with some clown fish back in 1992 (Pre-nemo) and everything went great. That tank is long gone and I just started a brand new set up 11/25/2004 with a 55 gallon tank and a everclear filter for a 100 gallon at 160-600GpH. I have two power heads on an under gravel filter 25-100GpH. The system is running at 76F and everthing is fine. Ammonia is high. Nitrite are starting to increase and nitrates are low. (break in period) I put 6 Black mollies in the tank to get things going. The black mollies were converted from fresh water $1.99Ea to saltwater $5.99Ea over an 8 hour period. The mollies are having babies and are doing fine. Everything is going so great you might ask were is my question. Well that was the back ground to the problem. I was told True or false that Live Rock will help speed the process of the biological filter and decrease my break in period. So I went out and bought 11.5 pounds of live rock. On the live rock I have feather dusters and I think one of the three pieces is hard corral. The hard corral piece has 4 feather dusters and 15-20 things that look like 4 tenacles out of each tube on this purple rock or hard corral. The clerk had no clue what he was doing and charged me $9.99 for the one pound item. What do I feed a feather duster? What do I feed the tenacles of the rock/corral? What are the chance of these items making it through the break in period of a new saltwater system? Thanks for your help. If you need more information or a photo please let me know. I can test the water tonight and post a photo. Thanks again.

clarkiiclo

Pics would be a great help. If they are feather dusters they are filter feeders. Marine snow is a good starter food.
Live rock will help your tank cycle quicker.

dalerich

Here the specs of the tank
55 Gallon
2 visijets at 100 Gph
under gravel filter
1 aquaclear 110 160-660 Gph
11.5 pounds of live rock
6 Black mollies