New to the hobby: My setup

BradWatts

Okay, I'm very new to the saltwater hobby. My wife bought me a tank for my birthday a couple of months ago and I've been slowly buying equipment as I've been studying up on the hobby. Here's what I hvave so far. 125G glass undrilled tank, Fluval,FX6 canister filter, 1 Vortech MP40WQD powerhead but I'm thinking of adding a MP10 as well, 2 Fluval E series 300W heaters, Reef Octopus HOB skimmer, 4 Aquaillumination Hydra Twentysix LEDs, 120lbs of live sand, 125lbs of dry rock and a CPR Aquafuge 2 HOB refugium with a light which I'm thinking of placing the heater in and if that doesn't work then some live sand, rock rubble and chaetomorpha. Any suggestion would be extremely helpful. This will be a FOWLR tank I will be producing my own RODI as well.

beth

Administrator
Staff member
What will you be putting into your canister filter? I'm not a fan of canisters because they don't export nitrates. They tend to add to that problem unless you are frequently cleaning media...which defeats part of the purpose of using a canister (biological filtration).

BradWatts

Thanks for the reply Beth. I'll be using chemi pure blue, and chemi pure elite in the bottom tray. Biohome ultimate in the middle tray and the coarse and fine filter pads in the top along with some seachem purigen ultimate.

BradWatts

My wife bought the tank and the filter as a birthday gift and I've been gradually adding equipment. My preference would have been a drilled tank with a sump but since I'm so new to the hobby I decided to research and go with what I was given.

beth

Administrator
Staff member